What makes vodka gluten-free?
From cocktails to sauces, vodka is as essential an ingredient in the bar as it is in the kitchen. If you follow a gluten-free diet, gluten-free vodka exists thanks to the distillation process.
Wheat is one of the grains used to make vodka, so those who avoid gluten often wonder if vodka is safe. However, during the distillation process, the gluten proteins are removed, leaving pure, gluten-free vodka. Nevertheless, distilled vodka can become contaminated with gluten during any of the post-distillation processes. This cross-contamination can also be a problem when preparing and serving drinks or foods containing vodka.
The first step in making vodka involves creating a mixture of cereal grains, usually wheat or rye, which is fermented to produce ethanol. The mixture is then filtered to remove pulp and other contaminants. Gluten remains when the filtered mixture undergoes distillation, where it is heated. During distillation, molecules with lower boiling points vaporize. This vapor is captured, cooled, and becomes the pure distilled vodka. The gluten particles are vaporized during this distillation process.
Federal guidelines for gluten-free labeling require that a product contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten proteins, so a vodka could be labeled gluten-free and still contain this protein in smaller amounts. Some companies, for example, go a step further to enhance the flavor of their product by adding a small amount of wort, flavorings, or other ingredients to the vodka after distillation. This process enhances the vodka's flavor but can also reintroduce gluten into the mixture.
Gluten can also reappear in vodka if it's manufactured in a facility that processes other gluten-containing products. To ensure a vodka is completely gluten-free, choose a brand that uses mashed corn or potato instead of wheat, barley, or rye.
Smoky flavors are often a source of concern for people who avoid gluten, along with any product containing malt. Smoke and malt flavorings are frequently made with barley flour and contain traces of gluten. If this is the case with your flavored vodka, you'll likely see wheat, barley, or rye listed among the ingredients. Most artificial colorings are gluten-free, but you should be cautious with caramel coloring. However, in plants located in North and South America, neither gluten nor wheat is used in the production of caramel coloring.
